Earthquake Safety Day to Focus on Awareness – The Himalayan Times – Nepal’s No.1 English Daily Newspaper


Earthquake Safety Day will focus on raising awareness

Kathmandu, January 6

The government is set to observe the 20th Seismic Safety Day on January 16 to recall the mega-earthquake of January 16, 1934 by linking it to the loss of life and property that resulted from the earthquake of April 25, 2015 and the aftershocks that followed. .

A meeting of the 20th National Earthquake Safety Day Committee chaired by Home Secretary Mohan Krishna Sapkota in Singha Durbar on Thursday decided to mark the day with the main theme “A strong community and local government are the solid foundation. of seismic safety ”.

According to the Interior Ministry, he will organize the main function in Basantapur on January 16. Responsibility for the management of the program has been assigned to the metropolitan city of Kathmandu. The National Society for Earthquake Technology-Nepal will act as secretary member of the day.

During the meeting, Co-Secretary Krishna Bahadur Raut briefed relevant officials on the national programs that will be organized on the occasion of Earthquake Safety Day. He said a condolence meeting would be held in New Road at 11:00 a.m. to remember those killed in the earthquakes before gathering in different parts of the city. He also appealed to everyone to make the function a great success in order to raise awareness about earthquake safety.

Earthquake Safety Day has been celebrated in Nepal since 1999 to publicize methods of earthquake safety after the country was paralyzed in the 1934 earthquake. The magnitude 8.1 earthquake of 1934 had killed over 9,000 people and damaged over 200,000 buildings.

Likewise, the 7.6 magnitude earthquake of April 25, 2015, the largest earthquake after 1935, left nearly 9,000 dead and over 23,000 injured. The earthquake directly affected the lives of eight million people. At least 605,282 private and government buildings were destroyed and 288,261 houses damaged. No less than 14 districts have been declared disaster by the government. The most affected districts share more than 90% of the victims and material damage.

Source link


About Author

Leave A Reply